Tiger players capture district achievements


On Monday Nov. 30, Region III District 11 announced the recipients of awards for the district.

After Sealy's season ending loss two weeks ago to Silsbee, and Navasota’s loss to Carthage last week, district 11 has no teams remaining in play and moved forward with announcement of MVP, 1st team, 2nd team, and honorable mention awards.

Senior Christian Wallace was named offensive MVP for the district, as well as sophomore quarterback Justin Eckhardt being named newcomer of the year.

All District first team offense awards went to senior Dawson Lake as tight end, senior Derick Dabney and senior Darian Thomas for offensive line. All district first team defense awards went to junior Will Cerny as a lineman, junior Kobe Aguado and junior Jestin Welch as line backers. Senior Jason Mackey in the secondary.

All district special teams named to the first team was Jestin Welch as punter.

All district second team offense was sophomore Justin Eckhardt as quarterback. Junior Deshawn Davis as running back. Senior Justin Leon and junior Carlos Mata were named to second team offensive line.

Second team all-district defense awards were given to senior Nathan Weber and senior AJ Banks for the defensive line, and senior TJ Theriot as linebacker. Senior Tajh Green was named second team secondary player.

Senior Stephen Rosas was named all- district special teams, 2nd team.

Honorable mention players were sophomore wide receiver Brennan Brandes, sophomore offensive line Cade Prihoda, sophomore corner back Tyrek McNeese, junior secondary Brandon Theriot, and sophomore defensive end Trey Holcomb.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment