Youth football advances to Super Bowls


Playoff fever is running wild and it’s not infecting only the high schoolers.

Youth footballers from first to sixth grade earned victories in the playoffs on Nov. 10 in Columbus to earn a spot in the title games in the Colorado River Youth Football Coalition.

All three championships will be played in succession at Wharton’s Tiger Stadium on Nov. 17 starting a 3 p.m. and each of the matchups will have the Tigers squaring off with Columbus’ second team.

Sealy first and second graders in the “Freshmen” division earned a 39-0 shutout of Wharton to advance to the ultimate stage.

Pierce Burttschell, Dylan Brown, Dylan Hamilton and Kyle Sims’ touchdowns led the way while Gage Quinton, Damien Gagne, Jayden Gomez and Eden Jones all solidified the defense that did not allow a point.

Third and fourth grade Tigers in the “JV” ranks grabbed a 32-12 win over LaGrange with Parker Vesley, Abraham Barerra, Weston Cryan and Romeo Castillo pushing the rushing-yard totals up over 300 yards. That was made possible by the linemen in Colton Gilbert, Travis Willingham, Romeo Uribe, Alex Gilbert, Jose Gomez and Hugo Vasquez providing a push up front.

Castillo ran in a pair of scores and was on the receiving end of another from the arm of Vesley. Amarion Kirby, Reese Reichardt, Daegan Hrochavy and Andres Martinez made the stops on the other side of the ball to keep Sealy in the lead and advancing to the next stage.

Kane Killough provided all of the scoring for the fifth and sixth grade “Varsity” team in their 28-0 victory. He ran in four touchdowns and threw a pair of two-point conversions to grab a healthy lead they would not relinquish.

This group of now-fifth and sixth graders is vying for the fourth consecutive league championship, winning the Katy All American in second grade, Katy youth football in third and CRYFC last year.

Isaiah Dukes-Self supplemented the rushing attack while Elijah Sanders, Nick Downey, Will Baber and Tanner Mauney all hauled in receptions through the air.

The defense supplied its fifth shutout of the year while being led by Erik Sanchez, Jadon Hernandez, Blake Irvin, Cole Crosby, Brady Burttschell and Julian Gomez who recorded multiple tackles and fumble recoveries to advance the Tigers to the final round.

The championship round of the Colorado River Youth Football Coalition kicks off at 3 p.m. on Nov. 17 in Wharton.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment