SHS students join honor society


Forty-three students from Sealy High School were inducted into membership of the National Honor Society Oct. 25, 2017 in the Thomas E. Golson Auditorium.

To be eligible for membership consideration, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 4.0 or higher and have been enrolled at SHS for at least one semester. Additionally, members must meet high standards of leadership, service, and character. They are then expected to continue their exemplary contributions to the school and community. Members will contribute to a chapter service project while completing individual service hours.

Students inducted were Elisa Alvarez, Javier Alvarez, Alan Anderson, Alissa Ashcraft, Abigal Beckley, Danielle Bersche, Derek Bollinger, Raul Calzadillas, Daisy Cardenas, Krystal Cash, Joseph Cevallos, Emily Culp, Diari Dabney, Kendall Dornak, Adriana Duron, Rachel Faldyn, Evelyn Gonzalez, Kayla Green, Faith Haugen, Hunter Havel, Meghan Hein, Arturo Hernandez, Jayme Kana, Shelby Klotz, Kelsey Leslie, Mayah Light, Vanessa Mares, Makenzie Menke, Chaplin Moore, Adrian Nino, Ethan Payne, Hannah Pekar, Tina Pham, Laci Prause, Jasmine Ramirez, Andrew Rapsilver, Clayton Ribardo, Clay Roberts, Ryley Schack, Raygan Snyder, Laura Thacker, Kendall Young, and Garret Zaskoda. Current members attending the ceremony were Devin Aguado, Emily Alvarez, Layne Blevins, Mark Bonaccorso, Brennan Brandes, Chase Burkland, Cody Burkland, Jessica Casas, Gwilym Couch, Kelsye Craft, Kenneth Cryan, Jacob DeLozier, Molly Dittert, Justin Eckhardt, Katie Fey, Andrew Firkus, Adam Gajewski, Cristal Guerrero, Blanca Guerrero, Ellie Hajovsky, Carlos Ibarra, Megan Kalinec, Maddie Klotz, Tiffany Krause, Kendall Krenek, Sarah Kulhanek, Matthias Litzmann, Ryanne Loredo, Lesley Lozano, Madison Luther, Brittany Luttrall, Skyler McCarthy, Shawna McDaniel, Christina Medrano, William Mock, Paige Moyle, Jordan Murray, Rayann Rabius, Kayla Rice, Leonel Rodriguez, Pedro Rodriguez, Nathan Rossi, Paige Schultz, Rio Smith, Rory Strong, Danielle Thaxton, Maria Tovar Tapia, Nolan Treybig, Marcel Tumer, Ariel Uribe, Zackary Wickens, and Christopher Wright.

Molly Dittert, chapter president, welcomed the guests. Matthias Litzmann, historian, led the Pledge of Allegiance. Megan Oliver, Sealy High School principal, introduced the current members and spoke about her pride to be a Sealy Tiger. Dittert then described the chapter activities. Candles were lit while the four symbols of the National Honor Society, scholarship, service, leadership, and character, were explained by Kendall Krenek, treasurer, Paige Moyle, secretary, Brittany Luttrall, vice president, Matthias Litzmann, historian, and Ryanne Loredo, reporter. Molly Dittert and Brittany Luttrall then introduced the inductees as Kendall Krenek and Paige Moyle presented each with a membership certificate.

Guest speaker for the evening was school board member Creed Roberts, who gave an uplifting and humorous speech about the potential of current and incoming members and the importance faith and family. Roberts reminded the members and audience of the value of human connection and networking in our current society.

Ushers were sophomores Pamela Cerda, Jonah DeLozier, Maddie Goad, Alexia Henley, Jennifer Lozano, Reece Novicke, and Khondker Salim. Chapter adviser is Stephanie Novicke. The National Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for high school students.

Chapters exist in more than 60 percent of the nation’s high schools and, since 1921, millions of students have been selected for membership. Millions of dollars in scholarships have been awarded to senior members since 1945 by the sponsoring organization, the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP).


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment