Schubert appointed to key House committees


AUSTIN – On Thursday, State Representative Leighton Schubert (R-Caldwell) was appointed to serve on three key House committees for the 85th legislative session: Energy Resources, Special Purpose Districts and House Administration. 

"It is an honor to serve the people of House District 13 in the Texas House of Representatives and when it came time to request committee appointments it was important to me to put the needs of the district first," said Representative Schubert. "For example, a majority of the counties I represent are in the Eagle Ford Shale, and oil and gas production is key to the overall economy of Texas." 

The powerful House Committee on Energy Resources considers legislation over all matters pertaining to the production, regulation, transportation, and development of energy resources throughout the state, including oil and gas. The committee has jurisdiction over matters pertaining to several state agencies like the Railroad Commission of Texas and the State Energy Conservative Office. 

The Special Purpose Districts Committee oversees the creation of any special purpose district such as hospital districts, municipal management districts, river authorities and other local government special purpose districts authorized or created under law that may levy or impose a tax, assessment, or fee for a special purpose. 

The House Committee on House Administration is a procedural committee with jurisdiction over the administrative operation of the Texas House and its employees, which includes setting budgets for each house department and committee, control of expenditures from the general house fund, and proceedings of committee hearings and testimony. The committee also considers any legislation pertaining to the State Preservation Board. 

"Now that committee appointments have been made, I look forward to once again rolling up my sleeves and getting to work for the people of House District 13," said Representative Schubert. 

The current 85th Texas legislative session will run through May 29, 2017. 

Representative Schubert represents District 13 in the Texas House of Representatives, which includes Austin, Burleson, Colorado, Fayette, Grimes, Lavaca, and Washington Counties.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment