Local races take shape


The election filing period for the March primaries closed Monday with some local races taking shape.

Pct. 1 Commissioner Reese Turner of Bellville has filed for re-election and is being challenged by Allen Kaminski of Sealy and Mark Lamp of Bellville. Pct. 3 Commissioner Randy Reichardt is running unopposed.

Tax Assessor-Collector and Election Official Marcus Pena is being challenged by Kim Rinn of Bellville.

Pct. 4 Constable James Clark of Wallis is seeking re-election and is facing a challenge by Matt McArthur of Sealy. Pct. 1 Contable Virgil Price, Pct. 2 Constable Dave Schulz and Pct. 3 Constable Ronnie Griffin are all running unopposed.

Sheriff Jack Brandes is seeking re-election and is also unopposed.

All of the Austin County candidates are Republicans. No Democrats filed to run.

A race has formed to replace Mark Skrivanek at chair of the Austin County Republican Party. H.W. “Buddy” Koenig is running against Vice Chairman Marc S. Young. For the Democratic Party, Pat Burns is unopposed.

Early voting begins Feb. 16 and election day is March 1.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment