Delta Kappa Gamma holds 53-member meeting in Phillipsburg


The Gamma Omega Chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International held their February meeting in the Fellowship Hall of St. Paul Lutheran Church in Phillipsburg, Texas with 53 members in attendance.

Pledges were led by Shelley Nies. The Collect was led by Anna Breddin and Mission Statement was led by Bobby Jo Supak. Prayer was said by Carobeth Bockhorn and the meditation was given by Mary Keienburg.

President Lou Pruett presided over the business meeting. Minutes from the December meeting were approved as printed by Recording Secretary, Kathy Noska.

Janet Allphin read the correspondence and Linda Pinkerton gave the Treasurer’s report.

First Vice-President, Jeanell Dallmeyer, thanked members for the donations, supplies and gift cards given to the R.A.P Program. Michelle Raeder, Head of R.A.P., was present and thanked all members for their donations. She encouraged members to become mentors because they always need more. The program for this meeting was called, Together Everyone Achieves More, which was about global awareness.

Members watched a video by Kid President explaining four goals similar to the DKG goals; 1.) End Poverty, 2.) End Inequality, 3.) Fixing our Planet 4.) Education for Everyone. Members participated in an activity to understand that people have different perspectives on how they see things.

Finally, they sang the song Lean on Me. Sue Wieprecht presented Alicia Kelm of Burton, the Maggie B. Selman Scholarship, Sarai Gaucin of Caldwell, received the Dorothy Louise Lehrmann Scholarship and Jamie Grebe of Bellville, received the Dorothy Louise Lehrmann Scholarship. A beautiful memorial ceremony in honor of Patsy Ashorn was performed by Lynda York and Janet Allphin. Door prizes were donated by Jeanell Dallmeyer and Anna Breddin. Winner for perfect attendance was Treva Bullard and Cheryl Pritchett won the regular door prize. The next regular chapter meeting will be March 4, 2017, at 9:30 a.m. in St. Paul’s Fellowship Hall.

Burton members were thanked for serving as hostess.

Attending from Austin County were Myra Demel, Lori Jackson, Susan Massey, Joy Mueller, Mary Ann Novosad, Allene Porter, Cheryl Pritchett, Sharon Spiess, Melanie Stein, Melanie Ueckert, and Sue Wieprecht.

Attending from Sealy were Janet Allphin, Grace Holtkamp, Jessie Kokemor, Kathy Noska, Heather Smith and Yvonne Wait.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment