County resident honored by Texas Farm Bureau 


 For the many ways he served his community, agriculture and Texas Farm Bureau (TFB), Ira Lapham of Sealy was honored with TFB’s prestigious Pioneer Award at the organization’s annual meeting recently in Arlington.

“For over 45 years, Ira has selflessly dedicated his time to Texas Farm Bureau and his county organization,” said TFB President Russell W. Boening. “If it weren’t for men and women like Ira, TFB wouldn’t be the strong grassroots organization it is today.”

Lapham grew up on a dairy farm in the Cypress area and began his own rice operation in 1969. Over the years, the rice farmer has added cattle, milo, wheat, hay, corn and guar to his operation.

When he’s not on the farm, Lapham is busy serving the Austin County Farm Bureau (CFB). Over the years, he’s served on a number of committees and acted as secretary and vice president. He helped mold the next generation by volunteering with Ag in the Classroom and speaking about agriculture in local schools.

He’s served on his local soil and water conservation district board and was named the Conservation Farmer of the Year in 1994. In 2015, Lapham was named the Farmer of the Year of Wharton County. He is a lifetime member of the Cat Spring Agricultural Society.

Lapham and his wife, Pauline, are members of St. John’s Lutheran Church of Cat Spring. The couple has four sons and three grandchildren.

TFB’s Pioneer Award honors one outstanding Texas farmer or rancher in each of the organization’s 13 districts, as well as one staff member. Winners are chosen annually by a panel of their peers for their exceptional contributions to agriculture and Texas Farm Bureau.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment